Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Sepuloni, Faafoi, Williams leads Pacific presence in new cabinet

Poto Williams, Carmel Sepuloni and Kris Faafoi have been named as part of the new-look cabinet

Social Development Minister Carmel Sepuloni is one of three Pacific MPs who has moved up the rankings in cabinet. Announcing the new cabinet today, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern says the Labour government will “reflect the New Zealand that elected us.”

Leading the cabinet’s Pacific presence at number six, Sepuloni continues her roles in Social Development, Disability Issues and ACC with one new addition, Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage.

The newest member of cabinet, Christchurch East MP Poto Williams has been promoted from outside cabinet to number 10. The Cook Islander has taken on the Building and Construction portfolio as well as Minister for Police. Formerly the Minister for Community and Voluntary sector, Williams’ previous role has been given to List MP Priyanca Radhakrishnan.

Minister Kris Faafoi, sitting at number 13, has also moved up from number 17. Continuing to his portfolios of Imigration and Broadcasting and Media, Faafoi was also named Minister for Justice, a role previously held by Andrew Little.

Meanwhile Minister for Pacific Peoples Aupito Su’a William Sio keeps his portfolio and has been given the added responsbiltiy of Courts.

When asked about the number of Justice portfolios given to Maori and Pasifika MPs, Ardern said “my focus was just best person for the job.”

“I looked at that background that [Poto] had working in this space. Often there is significant cross over with the police and was also mindful of the relationship there. She is someone who works incredibly well on areas where we may or may not be working on culture change.”

Notably missing from the cabinet lineup is MP Jenny Salesa who has not been given a ministerial role. Regarding Salesa’s absence, Ardern says Salesa is “looking to take a different direction.”

“Presiding officers, we have a role of nominating there…we will be nominating as an assistant speaker Jenny Salesa. She’ll bring that support role into the presiding officers team. We also have her spporting the select committee members as well in a lead role.”

Presiding officers work in conjunction with the Speaker of the House of Representatives, which may hint to Salesa’s future in Parliament.


Jacinda Ardern
Prime Minister
Minister for National Security and
Minister for Child Poverty Reduction
Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services
Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage

Grant Robertson
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Finance
Minister for Infrastructure
Minister for Racing
Minister for Sport and Recreation

Kelvin Davis
Minister for Māori Crown Relations:
Te Arawhiti
Minister for Children
Minister of Corrections
Associate Minister of Education (Māori Education)

Megan Woods
Minister of Housing
Minister of Energy and Resources
Minister of Research, Science and Innovation
Associate Minister of Finance

Chris Hipkins
Minister for COVID-19 Response
Minister of Education
Minister for the Public Service
Leader of the House

Carmel Sepuloni
Minister for Social Development and
Minister for ACC
Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
Minister for Disability Issues

Andrew Little
Minister of Health
Minister Responsible for the GCSB
Minister Responsible for the NZSIS
Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations
Minister Responsible for Pike River Re-entry

David Parker
Minister for the Environment
Minister for Oceans and Fisheries
Minister of Revenue
Associate Minister of Finance

Nanaia Mahuta
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Minister of Local Government
Associate Minister for Māori Development

Poto Williams
Minister for Building and Construction
Minister of Police
Associate Minister for Children
Associate Minister of Housing (Public Housing)

Damien O’Connor
Minister of Agriculture
Minister for Biosecurity
Minister for Land Information
Minister for Rural Communities
Minister for Trade and Export Growth

Stuart Nash
Minister for Economic and Regional Development
Minister of Forestry
Minister for Small Business
Minister of Tourism

Kris Faafoi
Minister of Justice
Minister for Broadcasting and Media
Minister of Immigration

Peeni Henare
Minister of Defence
Minister for Whānau Ora
Associate Minister of Health (Māori Health)
Associate Minister of Housing (Māori Housing)

Willie Jackson
Minister for Māori Development Associate Minister for ACC
Associate Minister of Justice

Jan Tinetti
Minister of Internal Affairs
Minister for Women
Associate Minister of Education

Michael Wood
Minister of Transport
Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety
Deputy Leader of the House

Kiri Allan
Minister of Conservation
Minister for Emergency Management
Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
Associate Minister for the Environment

David Clark
Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Minister for the Digital Economy and Communications
Minister for State Owned Enterprises
Minister of Statistics
Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission

Ayesha Verrall

Minister for Food Safety
Minister for Seniors
Associate Minister of Health
Associate Minister of Research, Science and Innovation


Aupito William Sio

Minister for Courts
Minister for Pacific Peoples
Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs
Associate Minister of Education (Pacific Peoples)
Associate Minister of Justice
Associate Minister of Health (Pacific Peoples)

Meka Whaitiri
Minister of Customs
Minister for Veterans
Associate Minister of Agriculture (Animal Welfare)
Associate Minister of Statistics

Phil Twyford
Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control
Minister of State for Trade and Export Growth
Associate Minister for the Environment
Associate Minister of Immigration

Priyanca Radhakrishnan
Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector
Minister for Diversity, Inclusion and Ethnic Communities
Minister for Youth
Associate Minister for Social Development and Employment


Marama Davidson

Minister for the Prevention of Family and Sexual Violence
Associate Minister of Housing (Homelessness)

James Shaw
Minister of Climate Change Associate Minister for the Environment (Biodiversity)


Rino Tirikatene 
Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the
Minister for Oceans and Fisheries
Minister for Trade and Export Growth (Māori Trade)

Deborah Russell 
Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the
Minister of Revenue

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive daily updates direct to your inbox!

*we hate spam as much as you do