Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Smokefree Tangata Beats 2020 National Finals results

Neo-soul RnB outfit Jam & Jelly from Papatoetoe High School in Tāmaki Makaurau have taken out the National Final of Smokefree Tangata Beats, this year streamed live as an online showcase. Their prize package includes $3,000 in musical equipment from Rockshop and a NZ On Air  NewTracks recording, video and promo grant.

The full line up of Jam & Jelly is Skylah Hewett (vocals), Ozarius Tu’ua (guitar), Joseph Nio (drums), Caitlin Jenkins (bass and backing vocals), Ipolani Magalei (keyboard), and Flo Akauola (electric guitar).

Vocalist Skylah Hewett describe’s the band’s winning song, Hokia Ki to Iwi, as a “massive support song”.

“It’s acknowledging our peers who left school to support their family and awhi and manaaki our family who need that support.”

T.T.R.U. from Rotorua Boys’ High School took out second place, winning a prize package that includes having a song professionally recorded and $1,500 in musical equipment from Rockshop. The full line up of T.T.R.U is Te Ara Pounamu Pukeroa (acoustic guitar, vocals), Uale Lefaoseu (vocals), Terrence Katipa (vocals), Totorewa Malcolm (vocals), and Whareporera Hare-Herbert (bass, drums).

The solo/duo award, winning $1000 of musical equipment from the Rockshop, went to singer-songwriter Imani-J (Alyahna Sanson-Rejouis) from Nelson. Imani-J, who is 12 years old, is the youngest national finalist in this year’s competition.

The judges were musicians Seth Haapu and Priya Sami, along with Ash Wallace from NZ on Air. About the winners Seth Haapu said “those recognised are the leading voices of a generation who are proudly telling the stories of our time through an outstanding expression of culture and music”.

The full list of awards announced at the national final is:
1st place: Jam and Jelly from Papatoetoe High School
2nd place: T.T.R.U from Rotorua Boys High School
3rd place band: Red Wav from Aorere College
Solo/duo: Imani – J from Nelson College for Girls
Musicianship Award, $500:  Becky Devine (bass player of Sixth Sense) from Gisborne Girls High School
Musicianship Award, $500:  Manaia Garrett (drummer and vocalist of 2k Rhythm) from Tologa Bay Area School
Mana Wahine Award, $500 cash: Praize from Manurewa High School
Smokefree Best Vocals Award, $500 cash: Abigail Ikurere (Authentic) from Alfriston College
NZ Music Commission Best Song Award, $500 cash: LeTreal Ross from New Plymouth Boys High School
Te Reo Award, $500 cash: The Pig Hunters (now known as The Young Guns) from Taipa Area School

Entrants in Smokefree Tangata Beats competed in their regions over winter from Invercargill to Whangarei. The national finalists were selected from videos sent by the regional winners and judged by a panel from the NZ music industry. Smokefree Tangata Beats entrants include an element of Māori or Pasifika culture in their performance.

Smokefree Tangata Beats standout successes include Nesian Mystik, the only New Zealand band to ever have 10 singles all certified gold or platinum; plus Ria Hall, Spacifix, Adeaze, Strangely Arousing and Alien Weaponry.



Stay Connected

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive daily updates direct to your inbox!

*we hate spam as much as you do