Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Teanau Tuiono and Fa’anana Efeso Collins move up the ranks of The Green Party list for 2023 election

MP Teanau Tuiono and Manukau City Councillor Fa’anana Efeso Collins. Photos: Green Party of Aotearoa

Green List MP Teanau Tuiono and former Manukau City Councillor Fa’anana Efeso Collins have moved up the ranks of the 31 candidates who will stand for the Green Party for the 2023 election.

Teanau moves from number six to number five and will stand for the Palmerston North electorate, while newcomer to the party Fa’anana moves from number 12 to number 11 and will contest the Panmure-Ōtāhuhu seat, currently held by Labour MP Jenny Salesa.

Co-leaders Marama Davidson and James Shaw released a joint statement on the confirmed list.

Ms Davidson says, “I am stoked that we are heading into the 2023 general election with such a strong group of candidates who will help us set the direction of the next Government.”

Green Party Co-leader James Shaw added: “Only the Green Party will take bold action to cut climate pollution and build resilient communities where everyone has what they need to have food on the table, a safe place to call home, and live a good life.”

The list is a culmination of a two-step process. Green Party delegates voted on an Initial List. Delegates were members of the party who were selected by their local branches to attend a conference where they spent time hearing from candidates.

The initial list was put to a vote of all members of the Green Party, who were given the option to choose this initial list, or rank candidates in their preferred order. A group of Party representatives discussed and approved the list that has been published today.

The Green Party’s list for the 2023 election is:
1.Marama Davidson (list only)
2.James Shaw (list only)
3.Chlöe Swarbrick (Auckland Central)
4.Julie Anne Genter (Rongotai)
5.Teanau Tuiono (Palmerston North)
6.Lan Pham (Banks Peninsula)
7.Golriz Ghahraman (Kelston)
8.Ricardo Menéndez March (Mount Albert)
9.Steve Abel (New Lynn)
10.Hūhana Lyndon (Te Tai Tokerau)
11.Fa’anānā Efeso Collins (Panmure-Ōtāhuhu)
12.Scott Willis (Taieri)
13.Darleen Tana (Tāmaki Makaurau)

14.Kahurangi Carter (Christchurch Central)
15.Celia Wade-Brown (Wairarapa)
16.Dr. Lawrence Xu-Nan (Epsom)
17.Francisco Hernandez (Dunedin)
18.Benjamin Doyle (Hamilton West)
19.Mike Davidson (Ilam)
20.Stephanie Rodgers (Ōhāriu)
21.Suveen Sanis Walgampola (Mount Roskill)
22.Dave Kennedy (Southland)
23.Gina Dao-McLay (Mana)
24.Reina Tuai Penney (Northland)
25.Nick Ratcliffe (Tukituki)
26.Dr. Alexander McNeil (Kaikōura)
27.Richard Wesley (Wigram)
28.Neelu Jennings (Hutt South)
29.Rochelle Francis
30.Sapna Samant (Maungakiekie)
31.Kair Lippiatt

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive daily updates direct to your inbox!

*we hate spam as much as you do