Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Tagata Pasifika

The Pacific voice on
New Zealand television
since 1987

Samoan paediatrician made a Dame in King’s Birthday and Coronation Honours 2023

Public Interest Journalism funded through NZ On Air
Samoan paediatrician and researcher Dr. Teuila Mary Percival (QSO). Photo: Pasifika Medical Association Group
Avatar photo
Gladys Hartson | Senior Journalist

A well known Samoan paediatrician and researcher who is a strong advocate for Pacific children’s health not only in New Zealand but in the Pacific region has been made a Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

Dr. Teuila Mary Percival (QSO) is a founding member and deputy chair of South Seas Healthcare located in Auckland. She is also a founding member of the Pacific Medical Association (PMA) in 1996 and a past president.

Through SSH and PMA, she was a leading clinician for the 2009 Samoa tsunami disaster response and provided paediatric support in Vanuatu following Cyclone Pam in 2015 and the 2019 measles outbreak in Samoa.

Photo: Southseas Healthcare

She helped create the Mana Kids clinics at 88 primary and intermediate schools in Ōtara, Māngere, Manurewa, Franklin and Papakura, with SSH a registered clinic based in the nine largest South Auckland schools.

Dame Percival is one of four women who will receive the title of Dame (including former Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern) in the King’s Birthday and Coronation Honours 2023 announced today.

Dame Percival is one of 17 Pasifika people across the country recognised for services to the country and their community.

Mrs. Nua Semua Silipa and family. Photo: FB

Congratulations go to:

● Mrs. Materoa Vicki-Leigh Mar for services to Māori and Pacific health (Palmerston Nth) and Mrs. Nua Semua Silipa for services to Pacific Education, (Auckland) will both be made Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM).
● Mrs. Meleane Pau’uvale has been made an Honorary ONZM for services to the Tongan community and education. (Auck)

Dr. Siale Foliaki. Photo: Capri Sanctuary

Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM) recipients are:

● Ms. Mary Puatuki Aue, creator of Coconut Wireless for her services to education, technology and Pacific and Māori communities. (Auck)
● Ms. Kendal Judee Collins, CEO of Sisters United for her services to youth. (Auck)
● Dr. Ofanaite Ana Dewes for services to health and the Pacific community.( Auck)
● Mr. Fa’atili Iosua Esera for services to Pacific education. (Wellington)
● Dr. Siale Alokihakau Foliaki for services to Mental Health and the Pacific community. (Auck)
● Ms. Qiane May Matata-Sipu for services to the arts. (Auck)
● Ms. Tara Lai-Ianne Moala for services to the community and environment. (Auck)
● Mrs. Keni Upokotea Moeroa JP, for services to the Cook Islands community. (Dunedin)
● Tofilau Talalelei Senetenari Taufale for services to Pacific health. (Napier)
● Dr. Semisi Pouvalu Taumoepeau for services to education and tourism. (Auck)
● Fa’amoana Ioane Luafutu becomes an Honorary MNZMr for his services to arts and the Pacific community. (Christchurch)

Fa’amoana John Luafutu becomes an Honorary MNZMr for his services to arts and the Pacific community. Photo: Martin Hunter

Receiving the Queen’s Service Medal (QSM):

● Rev. Alofa Ta’aese Lale for services to the community. (Dunedin)
● Mr. Putiani Upoko for service to the Pacific community. (Auck)

The recipients are part of the 182 New Zealanders recognised today for their service to the country.

Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has also confirmed that the Queen’s Service Order (QSO) and Queen’s Service Medal (QSM) will be renamed in honour of King Charles III.

This means this long weekend, New Zealand will again recognise a number of deserving recipients of QSOs and QSMs in its Honours List. Similar appointments are expected to be made in the New Year Honours List 2024.

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive daily updates direct to your inbox!

*we hate spam as much as you do